What's new :

Index | Français | Contact us  


rss Facebook

FSC

navigateur FCI

Fire, climate and vegetation: A 9,000 years history

Because fire is the most important disturbance in the boreal forest, it was crucial to try to describe its history and its relation with climate and plant dynamic. Within the surroundings of the Lake Duparquet Forest (FERLD), charcoal and pollen contents of well-stratified sediments from a small kettle, Lake Francis, were analysed to detail this history over 7,000 years before present (BP). In addition, analysis of a lacustrine charcoal data-base provided a means of establishing the main features of the regional fire history and geography. This double approach allows us to study first the climate-fire relationships and then fire-vegetation relationship.

Climate-fire relationships

The reconstruction of the fire history and geography was processed using a temporal low-resolution spatial analysis of lacustrine charcoal accumulation rate. This details fire occurrence for the last 10,000 years in Quebec (Fig. 1). The temporal synthesis of the charcoal anomalies enhances the highlight of Quebec’s fire history. A period characterised by positive anomalies (+) corresponds to an environment conducive to fire, and vice versa for negative anomalies (-). This synthesis does not take into account the regional singularity due to vegetation, topography or micro-climate. Between 10,000-8,000 BP and since 2,000 BP, Quebec experienced a climate conducive to fire. Temperature did not appear to play a role because the hypsithermal (8,000-5,000 BP) period was not only characterised by + anomalies. The fire history and the lake-status history both depend on the precipitation regime. But the historical discrepancies between fire and lake-status suggest that winter snow accumulations trigger the lake-level fluctuations while late-spring or summer droughts are the principal climatic force acting on fire occurrence. Thus high fire occurrences are not inconsistent with high apparent precipitation records since over the last 2000 years when Quebec has experienced an increase in occurrence of drought events despite high annual precipitation.

Christ.Fig1.jpg (241205 octets)
Fig. 1 : Temporal synthesis of the anomalies of charcoal accumulation rate during the last 10,000 years within Quebec.

 

Fire-vegetation relationships

Fire frequency reconstruction at Lake Francis (Fig. 2) indicates that fires were not frequent between 6,800-2,200 BP. Indeed, mean fire interval was about 260 ±208 years before a dramatic decrease to 85 ±55 years at about 2,200 BP. Because this change corresponds and permits confirmation of the change recorded by temporal low-resolution analysis in Quebec (Fig. 1), it provides evidence of the robustness of the fire reconstruction at Lake Francis. This permits comparison of local fire-frequency reconstruction with the pollen curves from the main tree species present over the last 7,000 years (Fig. 3). Reconstruction of the fire-vegetation and fire-climate relationships thus provides a basis for discussing the ecological consequences of climate changes. Between 9,500-7,500 BP, and after 2,200 BP, fire frequency was relatively high resulting from a higher drought frequency. However, the latter period change was not synchronous with changes in vegetation (Fig. 3). Indeed, during the period of low-fire frequency between 6,800-2,200 BP, the vegetation surrounding Lake Francis was dominated by white pine (Pinus strobus) and the Eastern white cedar (Thuja occidentalis), while all other boreal tree species were already present. When fire interval decreased, birch (Betula) pollen accumulation rate increased, and a few centuries later (ca. 1,500-1,000 BP) the current boreal forest dominated by balsam fir (Abies balsamea) occupied the region. There appears to be a lag of a few centuries in vegetation changes in relation to changes in fire frequency.

Christ.Fig2.jpg (129691 octets)
Fig. 2 : Frequency of fire events chronology at Lake Francis.

 

Chistopher.Fig3.jpg (198330 octets)
Fig. 3 : Pollen curves of major tree-taxa describing long-term plant dynamics over the last 7,000 years.

 

 

previous Back to research themes next

Grand-Pic

En manchette:

Index | English | Nous joindre 


rss Facebook

FSC

navigateur FCI
comment réagir en cas d'urgence

Feux, climat et végétation: une histoire vieille de 9000 ans

Puisque le feu est la principale perturbation en forêt boréale, il a semblé pertinent d’en explorer son histoire et ses relations avec le climat et la végétation. Pour reconstituer dans le détail cette histoire dans la forêt du Lac Duparquet, le contenu en charbons de bois et pollen des sédiments bien stratifiés d’un petit lac, le Lac Francis, a été analysé pendant une période de 7000 ans av. nos jours (BP). Parallèlement, l’analyse d’une base de données paléoécologiques de charbons de bois lacustres a permis d’établir les tendances de l’histoire et de la géographie des feux sur le territoire du Québec. Cette approche à deux niveaux indépendants permet d’étudier d’une part la relation climat-feux, puis le relation feux-végétation.

Relation climat-feux

La reconstitution de l’histoire et de la géographie des feux au Québec a été menée à l’aide d’une analyse spatiale à faible résolution temporelle des accumulations de charbons lacustre, détaillant ainsi l'incidence des feux depuis la mise en place du couvert forestier (Fig. 1). La synthèse temporelle des anomalies d’accumulation de charbons de bois depuis 10000 BP au Québec résume les faits saillants de cette histoire. Une période caractérisée par des anomalies positives (+) traduit un environnement favorable au déclenchement et à la propagation des feux, et inversement pour les anomalies négatives (-). Cette synthèse (Fig. 1) ne tient pas compte des singularités régionales liées à la végétation, la topographie ou les micro-climats. De 10 à 8000 BP, et depuis 2000 BP, le climat du Québec a été favorable aux feux. La température ne semble pas jouer un rôle primordial sur les feux car l’optimum thermique de l’Holocène (8000-5000 BP) ne se caractérise pas uniquement par des anomalies +. L’histoire des feux et celle des fluctuations des niveaux lacustres dépendent du régime des précipitations. Mais des discordances entre ces deux histoires dans l’est du Canada conduit à mettre en évidence l’importance des précipitations hivernales (neige) comme acteurs des fluctuations des niveaux lacustres, et les sécheresses estivales comme principal forçage agissant sur les feux. La fin de l’Holocène depuis 2000 ans au Québec se caractériserait par des fréquences accrues des épisodes de sécheresses printanières tardives ou estivales, bien que le volume annuel des précipitations soit très élevé.

Christ.Fig1.jpg (241205 octets)
Fig. 1 : Synthèse temporelle des anomalies d’accumulation de charbons de bois depuis 10000 ans au Québec.

 

Relation feux-végétation

La reconstitution de la fréquence des feux au lac Francis (Fig. 2) montre que ceux-ci furent peu fréquents de 6800 à 2200. En effet la moyenne des intervalles des feux était de 260 ±208 ans avant de chuter à 85 ±55 ans. Ce changement est relativement abrupt (Fig. 2) et coïncide avec la reconstitution, bien moins précise dans le temps mais plus générale, de l’histoire des feux aux Québec (Fig. 1). Ceci souligne la robustesse de cette reconstitution des feux au Lac Francis et autorise des comparaisons avec les courbes sporo-polliniques illustrant les changements du couvert végétal (Fig. 3). On dispose ainsi d'une histoire des couples feux-végétation et feux-climat pour discuter l'importance écologique des changements climatiques vis-à-vis des végétaux, via les variations de la fréquence des feux. L'Holocène ancien (9500 à 7500 BP) et récent (depuis 2000 BP) se caractérisent par une plus forte incidence des feux relevant probablement d'une plus grande fréquence des épisodes de sécheresse par rapport à la période 6 à 3000 BP. Les changements du régime des feux ne sont pas synchrones avec les changements de végétation (Fig. 3). En effet, au début de la mise en place de la végétation dans les environs du Lac Francis la végétation était dominée par le pin blanc (Pinus strobus) et le cèdre blanc de l’est (Thuja occidentalis), alors que toutes les espèces de la forêt boréales actuelle étaient déjà présente. Lorsque les intervalles de feux ont diminué, les bouleaux ont pris de l’importance avant de laisser la place à la forêt actuelle voici environ 1500-1000 BP. Les changements de végétations sont apparemment plus progressifs que les changements de régime des feux. Enfin, la végétation semble présenter une inertie de quelques siècles vis-à-vis de changements de la fréquence des feux.

Christ.Fig2.jpg (129691 octets)
Fig. 2 : Chronologie des intervalles entre les événements de feu les plus probables au lac Francis.

 

Chistopher.Fig3.jpg (198330 octets)
Fig. 3 : Courbes polliniques de quelques taxons résumant la dynamique forestière depuis 7000 BP.

 

précédent Retour aux thèmes de recherche suivant

Grand-Pic