What's new :

Index | Français | Contact us  


rss Facebook

FSC

navigateur FCI

Spruce budworm outbreaks

diapo10.jpg (18580 octets)Although part of the FERLD has not burned since 1760, it has been affected by other disturbances, including timber harvesting and, more importantly, several spruce budworm (Choristoneura fumiferana) outbreaks. Three outbreaks, occurring at intervals of 25 to 30 years, have occurred in this area during the twentieth century (Morin et al., 1993). Spruce budworm larvae feed on the young needles of balsam fir and spruce, although balsam fir is by far the most vulnerable species.

The vast majority of mature fir trees in the area were killed during the most recent epidemic, which lasted from 1970 to 1987 and it’s still possible to see many standing dead trees (fig. 1; Bergeron et al., 1995). Fir mortality varies greatly from one stand type to another, with coniferous stands being more affected than hardwood or mixed stands.

fig11.jpg (12101 octets)
Fig. 1. Raw mortality of balsam fir in relation to the time elapsed since the last fire from which the stands originated. Box plots portray the median (midbar in the box) and the 10th, 25th, 75th and 90th percentiles. Asterisks show the mean values.

 

Nonetheless, it is possible to observe greatly reduced levels of defoliation and mortality in small coniferous islands (fig 2). Although no data exist concerning local spruce budworm abundance during the last oubreak, current population densities do not appear to be linked to a stand’s ecological location (site type). As well, isolated stands do not avoid budworm damage because of their distance from continuous coniferous stands. Rather, the rate of budworm parisitism has been found to be significantly higher in isolated softwood stands surrounded by hardwoods (Cappuccino et al, 1998). Budworm mortality during larval development may therefore result in reduced defoliation levels and lower tree mortality in these situations. Gaps created by spruce budworm outbreaks may cover large areas, depending on the abundance of balsam fir in the stand. Fir seedlings are only rarely affected by the budworm and are generally the most abundant species in the regeneration layer. As a result, they will usually replace the dead overstory fir and form the next stand. However, the presence of extremely large gaps, as found in older coniferous stands, may result in a decrease in fir density, to the advantage of other species such as aspen, cedar and shrubs.

fig12.jpg (16070 octets)
Fig. 2. Comparison of balsam fir mortality (%) occuring in three different spatial contexts.

 

 

previous Back to research themes next

Grand-Pic

En manchette:

Index | English | Nous joindre 


rss Facebook

FSC

navigateur FCI
comment réagir en cas d'urgence

Les épidémies de la tordeuse des bourgeons de l'épinette

diapo10.jpg (18580 octets)

Bien qu’une portion de la FERLD ait été préservée du feu depuis 1760, elle a subit d’autres perturbations telle la coupe forestière et surtout plusieurs épidémies de la tordeuse des bourgeons de l’épinette (Choristoneura fumiferana). En effet, au moins trois épidémies ont sévi dans la région durant le vingtième siècle soit à tous les 25 à 30 ans (Morin et al.,1993). Les larves se nourrissent des jeunes aiguilles de sapin baumier et d’épinette mais le sapin baumier est de loin l’espèce la plus vulnérable.

La dernière épidémie qui a duré de 1970 à 1987 a entraîné la mort de la grande majorité des sapins matures et on peut voir encore certains individus morts debout (fig. 1; Bergeron et al., 1995). La mortalité a varié beaucoup d’un type de peuplement à l’autre, les peuplements résineux étant beaucoup plus affectés que les peuplements feuillus et mixtes.

fig11.jpg (12101 octets)
Fig. 1. Mortalité brute du sapin baumier selon le temps écoulé depuis le dernier feu duquel les peuplements étaient issus. Les graphiques en boîtes indiquent la médiane (ligne au milieu de la boîte) et les percentiles 10, 25, 75 et 90. Les astériques indiquent la moyenne.

 

Par ailleurs, on a pu constater que les petits îlots conifériens ont subit un niveau de défoliation beaucoup plus faible (fig 2). Bien qu’il n’y ait pas de données sur l’abondance de la tordeuse dans ces sites pendant l’épidémie, l’abondance actuelle ne diffère pas selon la situation écologique des peuplements, indiquant que les peuplements isolés n’échappent pas à la tordeuse grâce à leur éloignement des forêts conifériennes continues. Cependant, le taux de parasitisme des larves de la tordeuse est significativement plus élevé dans des peuplements entourés de feuillus et la mortalité des larves avant la fin de leur développement pourrait réduire le niveau de défoliation et ainsi expliquer une mortalité plus faible (Cappuccino et al., 1998). Selon l’abondance du sapin les épidémies de la tordeuse peuvent créer des trouées pouvant atteindre de très grandes superficies. Comme les semis de sapins sont relativement peu affectés par l’insecte, ce sont eux qui, généralement, vont remplacer les sapins morts et créer le nouveau peuplement. Cependant, la présence de grandes trouées dans les peuplements résineux provoque une diminution du sapin au profit de d’autres espèces comme le tremble, le cèdre et des arbustes variés.

fig12.jpg (16070 octets)
Fig. 2. Comparaison des taux de mortalité (%) du sapin baumier causée par la TBE pour trois situations d'isolement.

 

 

précédent Retour aux thèmes de recherche suivant

Grand-Pic