What's new :

Index | Français | Contact us  


rss Facebook

FSC

navigateur FCI

Jack pine productivity, regeneration and silviculture

Due largely to its serotinous cones, jack pine is, with white birch and trembling aspen, a major component of the fire-dominated forest mosaic in Abitibi. Stem analyses have shown that best jack pine growth occurs on rich, lacustrine clay soils (fig. 1a; Béland and Bergeron, 1996) However, these soils are also prone to rapid invasion of competitive vegetation following disturbance. If no special action is undertaken following harvesting on these sites, natural regeneration of jack pine is almost nonexistent. Therefore, cutovers on mesic clays must generally be scarified and planted or they will regenerate naturally into mixedwood stands dominated by birch and aspen. One current study is testing the possibility of stimulating jack pine regeneration, in order to develop silvicultural techniques inspired by natural stand dynamics. The study is aimed at determining the factors controlling natural regeneration of jack pine on tills, clays and sandy soils of Abitibi.

The more open stand structure found on sandy sites allows a more abundant production of seed and cones than on clay or till sites (fig 1b). On all the soil types studied, jack pine cones distributed on the ground after harvesting opened and dispersed their seed. Lower temperatures and higher moisture levels of clay sites however are responsible for better seed germination rates than on sandy sites. A silvicultural test of on-site delimbing and scarification has revealed that on clays, scarification is not necessary for jack pine seed germination. Contrary to results of similar studies on sandy sites, density of jack pine seedlings observed two years after harvest on undisturbed seedbeds was greater than that observed on disturbed seedbeds (fig 1c and 1d). Scarification can, however, be useful in reducing slash thickness on the site. We recommend limbing up to the fine end of the stem in order to assure better distribution of seed-bearing cones and reduction of slash thickness (Béland & Bergeron, 1993)

fig18.gif (162082 octets)
Fig. 1. a) Jack pine site index by site types. b) Jack pine stand seed production on three soil types. c) Treatments effects on seedbed proportion. d) Density of jakc pine seedlings after two years on each seedbed types.

 

previous Back to research themes next

Grand-Pic

En manchette:

Index | English | Nous joindre 


rss Facebook

FSC

navigateur FCI
comment réagir en cas d'urgence

Productivité, régénération et sylviculture du pin gris

Grâce à ses cônes sérotineux, le pin gris est, avec le bouleau blanc et le peuplier faux-tremble, une composante majeure du paysage forestier après feu en Abitibi. Des analyses de tiges nous ont montré que la croissance du pin gris est meilleure sur les sols argileux riches (fig. 1a; Béland & Bergeron, 1996). Par contre, ces sols stimulent une croissance rapide de la végétation compétitrice. De plus, si aucune mesure particulière n’est prise, la régénération naturelle du pin gris après coupe est presque inexistante et les aires de coupes doivent être reboisées. Une étude en cours vise à vérifier s’il est possible de stimuler la régénération du pin gris et de développer une sylviculture plus proche de la dynamique naturelle. On veut aussi déterminer les facteurs qui gouvernent la régénération naturelle du pin gris sur les argiles, les tills et les sables de l’Abitibi.

La structure plus ouverte des peuplements de pin gris sur sable permet une production plus abondante de cônes et de graines que celle des peuplements sur argile ou sur till (fig. 1b). Sur tout les types de sol étudiés, les cônes de pin gris laissés au sol ont été ouverts par la chaleur du soleil et ont dispersé leurs graines. Les températures moins élevées et les taux d’humidité plus élevés sur les sols argileux permettent néanmoins d’obtenir de meilleurs taux de germination des graines que sur sable. Un essai sylvicole de coupe avec ébranchage sur le site nous révèle que sur argile, la scarification du sol n’est pas nécessaire à la germination des graines de pin gris. En effet, contrairement aux résultats d’études similaires sur sables, le nombre de semis de pin gris observé deux ans après coupe sur les lits de germination non perturbés était supérieur au nombre observé sur les lits de germination perturbés (fig. 1c et 1d). La scarification peut toutefois être utile pour mieux répartir les déchets de coupe. Nous recommandons que l’ébranchage des pins gris soit réalisé jusqu’au fin bout de la tige pour assurer une meilleure dispersion des semences et diminuer l’épaisseur des déchets de coupe. (Béland & Bergeron, 1993).

fig18.gif (162082 octets)
Fig. 1. a) Indice de qualité de station du pin gris par type écologique. b) Production de graines de peuplements de pin gris sur trois types de sol. c) Effets des traitements sur la proportion des lits de germination. d) Densité des semis de pin gris sur chaque type de lits de germination.

 

précédent Retour aux thèmes de recherche suivant

Grand-Pic